velospace is about bikes and the people who ride them marketplace photos random forums

i know some of you live in cities and most of you ride fixed. i ride a geared bike being i live in the hilly burbs and have no real need for a fixedgear but im just wondering what everyones average riding speed is at and how often they ride. basically im trying to figure out how long it would take me or how long it took any of you to get used to riding at say at 25mph range for a considerablly lengthy time.
    • CommentAuthorwes m.
    • CommentTimeJul 13th 2009

30 mph for a considerable length of time... do I look like Merckx to you?

Within city limits I'm lucky if I get near 20mph. Probably more like 15mph once you figure in waiting at lights. On the open road riding solo I'd consider 25mph to be really respectable for me.

I started riding a two wheeler at around 4 years old. I've been riding road/mountain/fixed semi seriously for a few years.
    • CommentAuthorcloud
    • CommentTimeJul 13th 2009

25-30mph is silly fast like wes said. i do 17-18 to get where i'm going and i don't waste my time.
    • CommentAuthorJimtorious
    • CommentTimeJul 14th 2009

I am a bit fat, but I like to ride in the 15mph to 19mph range. It sounds way more impressive in Kms. My commute is 21 miles round trip and I generally tack on an extra 6to 10 miles for the fun of it. I was watching the Tour the other day and the average speed going up the category 1 climb was 14mph! That made me feel really good about myself...
    • CommentAuthorM1K3