velospace is about bikes and the people who ride them marketplace photos random forums

I recently started riding again after taking a few years off... I sold my bikes a few years ago for bills( a mistake) I recently bought a fixer upper bike and was wondering if I may be too damn big to ride it without bending the wheelset thats on there. I bought it and bent an axle, although i think it was bent before,I think they are alex or araya something cheap. I'm about 6'4 and 280 lbz.... and im just tryin to get back on a bike and trim my shit up for the summer
    If theres any other big guys out there it would be good to hear back from some of you, just looking for some feedback, and im kinda bored sitting on my fatass at work so i though i would ask
    I'm 145lbs and I've bent axles before. I've seen big guys on bikes before, you just have to be gentle. Swerve the potholes and don't ride off of sidewalks.

If I don't ride my bike for a week it feels like I haven't been on one in a year, but you've gotta start somewhere.
    Yeah thats kinda what i was thinkin, ill just be gentle with it i was hopin it wasnt that i was big i used to ride at about 200-220lbz and thought i was past the point of return. thanks for the feedback
    • CommentAuthorSkidMark
    • CommentTimeJul 1st 2009

Maybe put some street tires on a mountain bike, or get a 29er, instead of riding a skinny tired road bike. ANother thing to consider when you weigh more is stopping, which you might do better with some cantilevers or v-brakes.
    Go with at least 25C tires to absorb impacts.
    • CommentAuthorwes m.

I find it hard to believe that any cantis will stop you faster than a comparable quality caliper. If they have cantis that good now I need to buy a pair, seriously.