velospace is about bikes and the people who ride them marketplace photos random forums

Hey, new to the forum.
    I scored(?) a nishiki olympic 10 speed in orange for free, but it needs some love.
    It had a lot of surface rust on the forks, and bolts mostly. The chain is shot. The seat post came right out though to my surprise.
    I did a once over with 0000 steel wool and it looks much better.
    I'm new to this refurbishing thing, especially concerning parts for old bikes.
    I'll need new skewers, brake pads, and shifter and brake cables.
    Any suggestions as to what to get?
    Thanks,
    E
    And a new chain..
    Haven't decided yet if I want to convert it to SS as a college commuter or camp bike in the Adirondacks.
    What kind of crankset would I need to do so?
    Thanks again. I know there's a lot of questions.
    pictures are always the best way to start.
    And if you gave us an idea of your budget, that would eliminate impossible solutions.
    Hmm it won't let me upload photos. I'm assuming the photos from my iPhone are too big.
    I don't have the time to fiddle with pics at the moment.

But I guess in terms of budget, I'm not really sure what's realistic. Brake pads and cables aren't a concern. Will any stainless steel cable work?

Also, I think I've decided to go single speed. So I'll be removing the shifters. What can I expect for prices of single speed crankset? What size bottom bracket will I need and what sized tool?

I read somewhere else someone put a sugino vt crank on an olympic, but they aren't for sale anymore. Ny other recommendations?
    • CommentAuthorveggie
    • CommentTimeOct 9th 2013

Posted By: Ebiker2002Hmm it won't let me upload photos. I'm assuming the photos from my iPhone are too big.
    I don't have the time to fiddle with pics at the moment.

You need to upload them to an external site such as http://imgur.com/ and post the direct like like so:

Posting this:

http://i.imgur.com/veDaAGC.jpg