velospace is about bikes and the people who ride them marketplace photos random forums

• CommentAuthorstayfed
    • CommentTimeDec 17th 2012 edited

Hello everyone. This is my first time posting on this forum but have been a long time fan / reader. My bicycle was stolen last week so I've decided to stay positive and work on a new build throughout the winter. I was fortunate enough to purchase a lightly used Affinity frameset from Bicycle Revolution in Philly and I hope to document and share this process with everyone here.

Affinity 212 Frame
    Affinity Fork
    Velo Orange headset

Thanks everyone
    • CommentAuthorveggie
    • CommentTimeDec 17th 2012

Welcome.

What components are going onto this beauty?
    • CommentAuthorShaku

is that a road frame?? i didn't know affinity made them. She looks gorgeous!
    • CommentAuthorveggie

It's kinda hard to see the dropouts, but they are there.
    • CommentAuthorMancha150

This would look great with 8 or 9 speed campy or the silver athena group!
    • CommentAuthorstayfed

I am thinking about picking up a SRAM rival groupset and some Chris King hubs laced up to Mavic Open Pros. Thats about as far as I got.
    • CommentAuthorveggie

Do you know you like sram? I would try and find comparable bikes at a shop and test ride campy, sram and shimano
    • CommentAuthorMancha150

You should think about that 300 dollar shimano ultegra group that was posted in the best and worst of craigslist...
    Posted By: stayfedI am thinking about picking up a SRAM rival groupset and some Chris King hubs laced up to Mavic Open Pros. Thats about as far as I got.

what about silver 5700 105's?
    • CommentAuthorstayfed
    • CommentTimeDec 18th 2012

My last bike had Shimano components. I liked it but am drawn to the SRAM for some reason. I am going to look into Shimano some more. I want to make this build a mix of modern and classic components. Stealthy with a bit of shine. Thanks for the feedback everyone.