velospace is about bikes and the people who ride them marketplace photos random forums

• CommentAuthorMancha150
    • CommentTimeOct 6th 2012

So, was hoping to get some of you bay area peoples' cycling and otherwise opinions. I am going to be going to San Francisco with my wife at the end of the month (she is attending a conference and I am an independent consultant, so I can go with her with no repercussions). I am going to be meeting up with her on halloween and staying through that sunday morning. In addition to the alcatraz, mission district, chinatown, etc. etc. plans, I was thinking of us renting bikes for the day one day (maybe that friday), crossing the golden gate bridge into golden gate park, and then if we have time, riding to Berkeley across that other gigantic bridge. We are staying in fishermans warf, and there is a bike rental place near by (Blazing saddles) that rents all kind of bikes, INCLUDING road bikes with modern components!!!!!

So, I know SF is more than just hilly, but staying where we are staying, is it reasonable to think we can ride to the park and back, or even Berkeley and back? Or am I talking crazy talk here? Also, is it cold in SF in late october or is it upper 50s and pleasant?

Other than that, just wanted your guys opinions of what I can and should do, including halloween ideas (I guess there is some pub crawl, but any other cool things happen?). I would love to rent a bike there with the wife, so if this is feasible given the terrain and climate, I would love your suggestions. I have never been to SF or the bay area, so treat me to your thoughts.

THANKS GUYS
    • CommentAuthorveggie

Come to Texas.
    • CommentAuthorMancha150

Posted By: veggieCome to Texas.