velospace is about bikes and the people who ride them marketplace photos random forums

So I'm building a Super Pista (going to order a 2012 frameset: http://www.bianchiusa.com/bikes/fixed-gear/super-pista-frameset/) that I'm going to use for road races and other fun, non-day to day things.

I've already scoped out a lot of the components I want to use, but I really need recommendations for a stem. I've been looking at Moots, which I have no experience with but seem pretty decent. http://moots.com/our-bike/components/open-road-stems/open-road-stem/

Anyone have any recos for this kind of frame? I'd prefer something black/anodized with a good reputation.

EDIT: I'm not competing in official road races and I know this is a track bike, I'm just looking for a component recommendation.
    • CommentAuthorchku
    • CommentTimeMay 22nd 2012

3T
    • CommentAuthorHaegan
    • CommentTimeMay 22nd 2012 edited

Posted By: tracking_computer for road races and other fun, non-day to day things.

Like alleycats or what? You can't do road races on a track bike...

I'd recommend a ritchey or a Thomson
    Are you looking at an all italian build? Then like chku recommends 3T or Cinelli ,Deda, Modolo
    I can't imagine the Bianchi imported doesn't offer something in celeste and badged as Bianchi.
    But going back to the OP - how much bicycle related experience do you have in general?
    This is NOT a road race bike. So you either consider anything not done on a velodrome as "road racing" or someone is blowing smoke up your skirt.
    Posted By: Haegan

Alleycats and other unofficial shit, bombing around, essentially a lot of things I do with my current track bike minus commuting. Weekender, if you will.

Those Ritchey stems are looking awesome, and a lot cheaper than I envisioned. Thanks for the heads up.

Posted By: Socal3rensho
    But going back to the OP - how much bicycle related experience do you have in general?