velospace is about bikes and the people who ride them marketplace photos random forums

Hey everyone. I'm a graphic design student, and currently one of my class projects ist to design custom cans for a local company called Trash Amps. So you have an idea, Trash Amps are speakers that are more or less made using recycled aluminum cans as the enclosure, with a plastic insert (the black part at the top is the plastic insert. Currently they retail for $50. Here's a picture of a real one:

The client we're working with as a class presented us with a bunch of different target markets he wants to hit, and much to my delight, one of them is the "cyclist" market. He wants to have displays of these in bike shops.

I know $50 is pretty high for something that bills itself as being made from "trash", so let's pretend they retail for like $30 or $35. My question is, what would be your reaction if you saw these in your LBS? Is the concept clear (I won't say what it is because I want an honest account of whether or not it's clearly communicated)?

tl;dr -- What do you think of this cycling-themed aluminum can design? What does it make you think of? Keep in mind I didn't design the grafitti logotype or the "reuse it for music" mark on the plastic insert. Those were given.

I like the reynolds type decal on the front, Don't care for the idea as a whole, kind of impractical if the idea is to use it on a bike> If its just to sit on the desk or replace computer speakers thats another thing, and yeah unless the sound is amazing (doubtful) then $50 is not going to bring the sales flodding in.
    BTW alumi8num is almost always a 4 didgit 6000 or 7000 series number depending on alloy and heat treatment (just for authenticity)
    • CommentAuthoradrian13346
    • CommentTimeMay 8th 2012 edited

Posted By: socal3rensho 1.Don't care for the idea as a whole

2.unless the sound is amazing (doubtful) then $50 is not going to bring the sales flodding in.