velospace is about bikes and the people who ride them marketplace photos random forums

I am having a major dillema on a rim choice. I have been doing weight comparisons for three sets of rims to put on my dolan pre cursa and potentially use on my look 464 as well. I want something extremely light weight that can handle some street use that will still perform on the track. My choices are a set of Mavic Ellipse clinchers (1996g), a set of Campagnolo Pistas (2035g) only in tubular), and building some Mavic open pro's to miche pista hubs with sapim double butted spokes and alloy nipples (around 1600g). I need info from anybody that has ridden anyone; or all, of these to know about the performance and whether the weight should play the greatest roll. Through my sources, I would be paying the same for any of these options. The question is which will perform best as an everyday rim and track training rim?
    • CommentAuthorveggie
    • CommentTimeFeb 28th 2012

I have no experience with the first two choices, but i can say that my three year old Open pros have yet to be trued and are great rims.
    I've heard tons of great reviews on the open pro's, yet they are my least favorite aesthetically. Would've went with building them to a set of phils but they weight and cost more. I'm researching and finding mixed reviews of the miche hubs though weight weenies makes them look pretty favorable. What are your open pros laced to?
    • CommentAuthorhmsgenoa