velospace is about bikes and the people who ride them marketplace photos random forums

• CommentAuthorniuage
    • CommentTimeAug 19th 2011 edited

Is it possible to install brakes on nitto B123 handlebars, or similarly shaped handlebars? The shape seems to prevent that, but I'm no expert, so I'd like to make sure :)

Thanks.
    • CommentAuthorveggie
    • CommentTimeAug 19th 2011

Yes.
    • CommentAuthorTracker

OMG What is this oh its the quick question thread, use it...please.
    What kind of levers are you planning to install? It is all possible with road levers and levers that install on the flats

• CommentAuthorniuage
    • CommentTimeAug 19th 2011 edited

I'd like levers like in the second picture. It just seemed like there were no straight parts on the nitto B123 handlebars, unlike the handlebars in your picture.
    • CommentAuthorveggie

There are flats on track drops, but why not just get some normal road drops?
    Posted By: veggieroad drops

Im so happy I got into road bars on my track bikes I should have done it a long time ago. Since then I realize how impractical and uncomfortable track bars are when ridden anywhere besides track.
    • CommentAuthorniuage

Only because I like the design better. I have road drops on my current bike, and I was thinking about trying track drops.
    But in fact, those would not be my first choice. I wanted to try bullhorns. The nitto RB21 seemed perfect. But first it's hard to find in black. And second, I have a 31.8 stem... So do you know any bullhorn handlebars similar to this model in 31.8?
    • CommentAuthorniuage

Hum... thanks for the feedback bensonisajew. I guess I wont go for those then.
    Profile makes some or Deda
    • CommentAuthorstalag13

Looks like they still have 42cm at Ben's in black:
    http://www.benscycle.net/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=188_232_593_1734&products_id=9652

Profile Airwings are good. The drop on them is not as deep as RB-021, but they're comfortable bars.