velospace is about bikes and the people who ride them marketplace photos random forums

I commute to town daily on the Oregon Coast, plenty of hills and descents. My current gear ratio is 46t/14t. Although I never have a problem mashing hills or riding in general. Sometimes I find it difficult to stop and start. I notice most of the riders on Velospace and my friends ride with a larger rear cog. I am looking for an all around ratio, that still has a bit of resistance. I don't like peddling franticly. I am fairly new to pista/fixed gear bicycles. But I prefer the unison between myself and the bicycle. So any recommendations will help me tremendously. Also, any suggestions for a set of tires? Currently riding Zaffiros and was looking to bulk up possibly?, I don't really skid unless necessary.

Grazie!
    • CommentAuthorChris V
    • CommentTimeJul 23rd 2011

I have 46/17 and I like it. You should switch to a 15 or 16 cog to make a noticeable difference.
    I ride 48x16...Your basic ratio. 14 is kind of odd imo, but if you dont want to change both cog and chainring id go with 46/16 or 17. I just got a new chainring in the mail today, going to 53x16. I ride a Zaffiro 23 in the front and a randonneur 28 rear. I feel that the smaller/thinner tires make a hell of a lot of difference in speed. id go with 23 front and 25 rear. Just make sure you know your skid patches and all that jazz. tell me how it goes =).
    • CommentAuthorChris V
    • CommentTimeJul 23rd 2011

Posted By: ChadNishidaI ride 48x16...Your basic ratio. 14 is kind of odd imo, but if you dont want to change both cog and chainring id go with 46/16 or 17. I just got a new chainring in the mail today, going to 53x16. I ride a Zaffiro 23 in the front and a randonneur 28 rear. I feel that the smaller/thinner tires make a hell of a lot of difference in speed. id go with 23 front and 25 rear. Just make sure you know your skid patches and all that jazz. tell me how it goes =).