velospace is about bikes and the people who ride them marketplace photos random forums

I'm a newbie here, and a new old bike owner. I bought a 24-year old Bianchi this spring and am riding all I can, amazed and invigorated by the efficiency and speed of a bike that's significantly older than my adult kids!
    Recognizing that rust, oxidation and time never rest, I had my celeste beauty professionally tuned, put new tires and bar tape on it (the tires, all by myself!) and cannot *imagine* a more funner way to get anywhere fast, wet and cold! Even the original Sella Italia seat is almost comfy!
    So...
    I know it's a bit luddite of me to even ask, but are new(er) frame/shifting/braking technologies (perceptibly) any better than my middle-aged baby, to the average rider?
    :-)
    chellissima

P.S. I'll try to post a pic or two ASAP.
    • CommentAuthorkeeyop
    • CommentTimeApr 22nd 2011 edited

Where'd i put that can of worms? Oh, here it is...

Whole lot of opinions on these questions. Short answer: YES.
    Are upgrades worth it? MAYBE. Okay, that's not exactly helpful.

Cheap & easy braking improvement: Kool-Stop salmon (colored, not fish) pads.
    Then, you have to ask if you're willing to alter the bike's "personality", whatever that may be... Downtube shifters? Keep 'em and upgrade? The 80's saw a lot of index-shifting changes, so compatibility issues abound. Trouble there. Don't like the location? There's always barcons or stem-mounted.
    Integrated shifters put braking/shifting in the same unit these days. Older, 90's "brifters" may, or may not work with your setup.

Personally, I'd leave it as is. Or maybe slowly upgrade w/period stuff (watching for deals on ebay, not changing too much at once; so you can evaluate differences). Don't know what you have on there, but Bianchi's generally had good stuff.
    Save the upgrades for a different bike?