velospace is about bikes and the people who ride them marketplace photos random forums

• CommentAuthorslow_cycler
    • CommentTimeApr 17th 2011 edited

Hello all,
    I am a newbie when it comes to cycling, but would like to get involved! A lot of my buddies have triathlon bikes and very nice road bikes. I was not sure if I would enjoy cycling, thus did not want to put 100's and/or thousands into getting a specialized road bike, plus I am in college! Need I say more. :)
    I found a late 1970's to early 1980's bike on Craigslist that needs some work for $30, but I do not mind putting a little bit of money into it here and there for now. I am very mechanically inclined when it comes to cars, so I figured this would be an easy pick up when repairing/restoring. I am very curious in the history of this bike so I was curious if anyone could give me any information just by looking at the photo's. I only have the one's from craigslist where the gentleman posted. Here is the post to it, so if there is any recommendation on parts please let me know. I would not mind putting a little extra money into well made/performance parts.

"I have a schwinn 10 speed that needs some TLC. Can easily be made into a single speed or fixed gear will require more work to operate as 10 speed again. WIll need a new bottom bracket and chain and an inner tube to bring it back to functioning status ( thats prob. a total of $20-60) depending on the quality of the parts and where u get them. Tires are in good shape. A seat and seat post are included although not shown in photos ( Avocet seat in good shape)."

I am not sure how to post pictures on here yet so I will try to upload them and to "my stuff" and go from there if possible.
    Thanks a lot-Josh

EDIT: Here are direct links to photos on photobucket. Still trying to figure out the loading process for pics for now. These are from Craigslist and I will try to obtain better ones tomorrow

UPDATE: 6/08/11