velospace is about bikes and the people who ride them marketplace photos random forums

• CommentAuthornttilma
    • CommentTimeFeb 23rd 2011

Hello,
    I am an industrial design student and bike commuter, and I need some research information. Would you please take the time to answer a few questions I have about bike turn signals?
    1. How do you indicate turning? Proper arm motions? Point your arm in direction going?
    2. Do you have any LED turn signal devices? If so, do they work well? What could be improved with them?
    3. If you don't have LED turn signal lights, would you consider getting some?
    4. What would you like to see in a turn signal device? Seat post mount? Backpack lights? Arrows?
    Anything else?

Thanks,
    nttilma
    I don't really think drivers would see or pay attention to little blinking turn signal lights on a bike. Most drivers don't even see people on bikes too begin with!

If there is cars directly behind me and I'm having to slow down to take a turn, I will signal with my arms the direction I'm turning to warn them to slow down, or sometimes even if they are making the turn too.

To be honest, I don't think any little blinky lights would be useful as turn signals. Cyclist just need to use hand signals, because they can be seen from ALL directions… not just from behind you and at night (which is the only time a device like this would be potentially useful)

Poor idea. No deal.
    • CommentAuthornttilma

Thanks for your feedback.
    I figured I should bring up this video, despite this being just a concept, and not exactly efficient or safe (where are the front turn signals? and when it's not doing anything, the lights could be distracting) but it just looks rad.

http://www.bored-to-death.com/33543/LED-Bicycle-Backpack-Video

Hands are certainly the best way to indicate turning, they're three-dimensional and are easy to see.
    • CommentAuthorjburnha

Hello nttilma, I'll respond according to your question numbers: