velospace is about bikes and the people who ride them marketplace photos random forums

im new at this, and i.ve yet learn to lock my rear wheel to perform a skid. im running 52 in the front and 16 in the rear. what am i doing wong?
    • CommentAuthort0dk0n
    • CommentTimeNov 1st 2008

Just go fast enough, get comfortable in a standing position, lean forward over the bars, lock your legs up hard. That's all you really need to know. Its just scary at first to overcome leaning over the handlebars, but after doing it a few times, you'll get used to it. What you're doing is lifting weight off the rear wheel by shifting the center of gravity to the front of the bike, while the rear wheel is unweighted, you lock your legs up, and the wheel will skid. Just hold it. Also, it might be helpful to find a comfortable position on your bars. Your gear ratio should be fine, I learned to skid on a 48:16 ratio.
    thanx. i will try that. i have seen people doing this without leaning foward ,so i thought i was doing something wrong. i even invested on front brakes because i got frustrate. ok. will do.
    • CommentAuthormeatroll

leaning over the bars gives you practically zero stopping power. maybe its a good way to learn but to actually slow yourself in less than a block you need to skid from the saddle. "investing" in a front brake is not a mistake, especially if you're new and trying to push 52x16. if you still have the 42 ring you might want to switch to that.
    i still have my 42t ring will switch out . that should also help me when going uphill.
    • CommentAuthorzzoundss