velospace is about bikes and the people who ride them marketplace photos random forums

hello, i dont know which category to put this topic so, ill leave it in the general category
    yeah im a bit noob for asking this question

but i have a front Origin8 track pro wheel and it is laced and is it possible to make it radial?

no bashing please, i just want my simple question to be answered

thanks
    • CommentAuthordanzap209
    • CommentTimeNov 29th 2010

Sure, but you will need shorter spokes.
    • CommentAuthorveggie

Of course, you will just need to completely rebuild the wheel with shorter spokes as danzap said.

That's an awful lot of work for that wheel though.
    oh i see..

well, i got the wheel cheap for $30

is it possible that a LBS can do it?
    • CommentAuthorveggie
    • CommentTimeNov 29th 2010 edited

Of course a LBS can do it. I would un-lace the wheel and take it to them. A far as they have to know, the wheel is being built for the first time, aside from it looking used.
    ouoo i see

thanks!
    • CommentAuthorveggie

No problem.

If you can figure out how to do it on your own, you will save some money.

Do bike kitchens have truing stands? Anyone?
    • CommentAuthorpolitburo
    • CommentTimeNov 29th 2010 edited

Sounds like you will be spending a lot of money rebuilding a wheel that is just "ok" and making it weaker by making it radial. Why do you want to do this, aesthetics? Unless you are veggie sized(<140lb) this doesnt sound like a good idea because:

1. Radial will go out of true quicker than 2x or 3x cross
    2. Expensive to build a wheel.

Ride it until it dies, meanwhile save your money for a good wheelset.
    All the ones I have been to do...
    • CommentAuthordanzap209

You're going to spend around $1.50 per spoke. Plus about $50 for labor. Just buy another wheel
    • CommentAuthorveggie

Posted By: politburo2. Expensive to build a wheel.