velospace is about bikes and the people who ride them marketplace photos random forums

• CommentAuthorMartyMar
    • CommentTimeNov 19th 2010

Hello

I just got a 2010 FTComp for a steal brand new. I really like it so far: it's MUCH faster than the Fuji Feather I previously had. I am new to this and have a couple of questions

I am planning to replace the stock Crankset (Fuji "Competion Grade Components"....any info on their quality?) with my SRAM Omnium. I read on another forum here that it rubs the chainstay and can't put it on. I really hope not because I LOVE that crank, man!

any info is helpful...even if you or someone you know is riding an ftp with opinions, etc.

Thanks a lot
    Posted By: MartyMarit's MUCH faster

I dont think so

With the Omnium crank I think you can adjust the spacing with the bb
    • CommentAuthorquidose

Posted By: bensonisajewWith the Omnium crank I think you can adjust the spacing with the bb

No.
    Sorry then I read wrong somewhere.
    Deff try it out for yourself see if the arms touch the chainstay at the LBS
    Posted By: suicide_doors
    Posted By: willnickThis is with extra 3mm of spacers on as well

Which is a horrible idea on a fixed gear bike. Very likely there is not enough thread engagement to keep the cups seated in the BB shell. Not to mention the fact that there really isn't that much adjustability in the Omnium's spindle.

That's too bad for Trek... but it's not like they're going to admit that there is a problem.
    The clearance issue with Omniums, at least the one I have seen/read about/experienced is the width of the spider, not the arms themselves. The spider is super, SUPER burly, and won't clear certain frames. I BELIEVE that the Fuji Track model people were having problems with was the 2008 Pro, but I can't remember for sure, and it wasn't just with the Omnium. I have seen at least one 2009+ FTC with Omniums on here, so I wouldn't worry.