velospace is about bikes and the people who ride them marketplace photos random forums

I cant realy find the anser, i have been looking at other topics and they are either for different styles of riding or they just go way off topic as usual.

Im having trouble still with finding the perfect pedal,shoe,stap and clip combo for my fixed gear, also still struggle with skids(never improoved since i figured it out) and using my front foot to help slow me down.

So just wondering what other people are riding and why?

(i only ride clips)

Clipless or straps?
    for regualr pedals Mks Sylvans to Toshi double straps with steel cages are the best bet, that was how I rode for 3 years, 2 years on the same Toshi straps and they last forever! For this youll have to wear shoes that arent too bulky Im a size 9 and wore Vans Authentic and used Soma large cages.
    Now I started riding clipless with Shimano M520 with my Diadora Jalapeno so far its great.
    • CommentAuthorveggie
    • CommentTimeOct 16th 2010

Clipless is the way to go

Benson, you are lucky usps wouldn't send those pedals, I really don't think they are that great. How much did you get 'em for?
    • CommentAuthorAaron C

Im still a great big fan of the MKS GR-9 pedals. if you have problems with handling toe overlap they may not be for you (they are a bit longer than sylvans for example), but they feel much better in street shoes than sylvans.

on long rides sylvans always end up feeling like little razor blades digging into my feet.
    Veggie thanks for helping out when you could have much appreciated! I got my pedals for $40 dollars