velospace is about bikes and the people who ride them marketplace photos random forums

• CommentAuthorbenkordus
    • CommentTimeApr 20th 2010

hey guys, i am new to velospace, and completely new to single speeds(besides an old haro group 1 bmx)

-a little about my current bike- i have a surly long haul trucker, it is pretty much stock except for the seat, fenders, rack, panniers, touring stuff, etc.

it weighs in at about 28 lbs, and every bike ride i am on i see some old crappy fixie or single speed going around my mph.

i have become enamored with single speed simplicity, and a potential way to cut a lot of weight, and go even faster than i do now-and i know every pound makes a difference.

i am looking at creating a black on black speed demon.
    framesets that i like, but know nothing about are: trek t1, and surly steamroller.

some guy on the trek website said his t1 with better cranks and deep v's was under 17 pounds..which is exactly where i want to be.
    since i am kind of loyal to surly- if the frames are similar enough, and in the end weigh the same i'd probably go with them.

i really need some sound advice on parts, (my local bike shop has a check list here:

i am looking to spend no more than 1000 dollars
    i will only ride the bike on street/paths
    i dont want clipless or maybe even toe clips
    would rather have drop bars, than bullhorns, horizontals, etc.
    is only equipping one front brake good enough with how fast this thing can go?
    i have absolutely no idea about gear ratios and what not, but i bike almost everyday for an hour or more, and am 5'8 and 145 pounds
    i don't want the worst parts, but feel i dont need the best either
    also i read on a forum that deep v's may be a little much, and maybe go with velocity fusions, or even something lighter?

i realize i probably left out a lot of things, but hopefully you guys can help me.

Thanks in advance,
    ben