velospace is about bikes and the people who ride them marketplace photos random forums

• CommentAuthorkirke
    • CommentTimeMar 5th 2010 edited

I have posted this on the Bike Forums Classic and Vintage section as well, but sometimes I like Velospace better so I hope people enjoy!

This thread is to document the build of my 1971 Mercian frameset. This is my first attempt at anything approaching a "period correct" restoration, and I am very excited about completing the bike and taking it out for a spin (yes, it will be ridden)!

First a little history:
    I purchased this frameset on Houston Craigslist about two years ago. I needed an around the town bike and turned in into a fixed gear (I know, I know...). It looked like this:

The frame had lots of dents in it, and the bottom bracket threads had been retapped from British to Italian. The BB shell had so much material shaved off the faces that it took some luck the get a BB/crankset to work. I figured I would do a fixed gear conversion and salvage the frame from the trash.
    Well, I liked the bike alot. It rode great. But, I hated the paint job. The top tube had been repainted a pearl blue at some point which did not match the original blue head tube and seat tube panels, so I went ahead and got a local contact to repaint the frame for me. Then the bike looked like this:

Well, I stumbled upon a real track frame and moved most of the parts from the Mercian over to that. So, I had to figure out what to do with this great riding frame I had lying around. Thats when I decided to restore it to near-original condition.

After two years of collecting circa-1971 parts, I took the plunge this past October and sent the frame back the the Mercian factory in Derby, England to have the bottom bracket shell replaced and get a fresh coat of paint. Here is what it looks like now: