velospace is about bikes and the people who ride them marketplace photos random forums

• CommentAuthorMaxThrash
    • CommentTimeFeb 28th 2010

So, I'm considering opening an ebay (utilizing craigslist too) bike shop, but I have no experience with this sort of thing and I'm not sure where to start. I'm sure somebody on this forum must sell on Ebay. Pros, cons? Things to consider? I'd really appreciate any advice or direction people can offer at all.
    Well, the place to start would be to pull a source for giant MSRP discounts on components out of your ass. The problem with selling anything on the internet these days is that without having a line on a good general supplier, importing rare parts (Velosteel hubs, for example) and some way to ship things extremely cheaply, you're going to be outsold by someone else unless you make almost no profit whatsoever. Otherwise the only market that makes sense to tap is the used market. There are sellers on eBay who spend 8-10 hours a day scouring local classifieds, bike kitchens, barns, junk yards, and second hand stores to find marketable parts to sell. To me, neither route seems profitable without some kind of in.

But I'd love to hear from someone who actually does it. I have sold perhaps 80 items on eBay over the last ten or eleven years, and I've never felt like I was making a net profit. It's hard to compete with bike suppliers on the internet, perhaps even more than it is for LBSs to compete with online shops.
    Not really a profitable idea. You will probably end up in debt.
    • CommentAuthorMaxThrash

SD you're bumming me out! Not even as a side job making a few hundred a week? I mean, I understand what you're saying about the extreme downward pressure on the prices online, but it just seems a little hard to believe that the only people making money on ebay are people with industry connections.