velospace is about bikes and the people who ride them marketplace photos random forums

• CommentAuthorkevkev
    • CommentTimeOct 13th 2009

is there a preferred method?
    Posted By: RuffinitJust saw the chain lube question posed on a different discussion and thought I'd throw in my very best tip for a clean, tenacious chain lube. You all know that the parafin or wax based chain lubes seem to be the best, well this is the way I've been doing it for around 20 years. I've tried numerous "miracle" lubes which in some cases work better where you get alot of rain, but here you go:

If you aren't in a really wet location, though I still used this in Washington (Rain capitol)...
    Get an old one quart sauce pan, go to the grocery store and pick up a box of parafin (4 bars). Over a stove, melt the parafin in the sauce pan (You won't need all 4 bars); use enough to submerge the chain. Cook your chain long enough to bring it to the same temp as the wax. Get a steel clothes hanger and hook one end of the chain to pull it out of the pan, bend the other end so you can hook it over something while the chain cools off. Oh, and just use a terrycloth towel to wipe as you pull it out.
    When the pan with the wax still in it cools down, just hang it on your wall ready for the next time. No clean up.

The beauty to this is that if the chain is heated properly, it will pull the parafin into every crevice, with every time you do this it floats the dirt (doesn't pick hardly anything up) out of the chain and deposits it in the bottom of the pan. IT'S Cheap and you can reuse the wax until it gets too much sediment in the bottom of the pan, then you just heat and toss. It stays on the chain, no drip, no grime, no greasy mess and it IS parafin, not just wax-based (parafin) lube.
    I keep two chains; one that is done and one that is on the bike.
    First time you do this, use a good cleaner and give the chain a good scrubbing to get it as clean as possible.