velospace is about bikes and the people who ride them marketplace photos random forums

• CommentAuthorJameson_C
    • CommentTimeSep 23rd 2009

I am starting a new fixie project. I have a couple questions seeing as i am relatively new to this. First, I am wondering what the benefits of a lugged frame are. Strength? Weight? I have seen alot of lugged road frames that are relativeley cheap, but the dont have track drop outs. How hard are they to convert to fixed? I have seen alot of old NJS lugged track frames which are beautiful but they are pretty pricey. Considering the bike will be fixed, what are the pros and cons versus an old lugged road bike and lugged track frame, if any?
    • CommentAuthorLyKqiD

Lugged Track Frame
    More upright frame angles
    Tight geometry
    Not designed/drilled for brakes
    Tight tire clearance
    No Fenders
    Expensive as shit
    Toe overlap
    Light weight
    Track ends

Lugged Road Frame
    Comfortable geometry
    Large tire clearances
    Brake mountable
    Usually cheap
    Not as aggressive of stance
    Less street cred
    Less respect on fixed gear sites
    Older/heavier
    Needs horizontal dropouts

Sheldon Brown can help you with all your converting needs, just click HERE.
    They are in two completely different classes. Lugged track is at the high end, lugged road conversion is at the absolute bottom. That isn't to say that you can't compare the two, but you shouldn't even consider lugged track at your experience level.

The only reason to convert an old road frame is if you already have one or can get one of reasonable quality for very cheap (think less than $100). Otherwise you will end up spending the same amount converting it (in time and money) that you would spend on a complete fixed specific bike.