velospace is about bikes and the people who ride them marketplace photos random forums

• CommentAuthorMaxThrash
    • CommentTimeSep 11th 2009

I should preface this by saying I'm not very experienced in the repair-area of biking. So, I thought my bb was creaking, but after doing some research I discovered that most of the time you think your bb is creaking it's something else. So I was trying to tighten the bolts on my chainring, but instead of tightening, the bolts just kinda slid around in their socket. Did I strip them or am I just making a n00b mistake? I do a fair amount of skidding and track standing (this is actually when I hear creaking the most), I don't know if that affects things.
    You're saying that all of your crank bolts did this, or just one? By sliding around, do you mean that when you tightened them they would slip (meaning the threads were not engaging)? If you pulled on one of the affected bolts, would it just come right out?
    Answer all that. Plus tell me what model crank you're using, your shoe size, and what you use to brush your teeth.

If your bolt(s) are stripped you should replace them, whether they are the cause of your creaking or not. If you don't, eventually you're going to have an accident.
    By the by, I have old cotter-pin cranks from the 70's and i get creaking when I push my left pedal with all my weight.

Wat da fuk? Is there a common explainination as to why its doing that?
    Tighten up and but a little grease on your chainring bolts. If that does not fix the problem, you might need to repack your BB.
    • CommentAuthorscruggle
    • CommentTimeSep 12th 2009

Posted By: MaxThrashSo I was trying to tighten the bolts on my chainring, but instead of tightening, the bolts just kinda slid around in their socket.

Did you have something holding the other side of the bolt (the chainring nut)? If not, it's no wonder they spin; you'll probably score your chainring if you keep it up.