velospace is about bikes and the people who ride them marketplace photos random forums

• CommentAuthorrickdog81
    • CommentTimeMay 14th 2010

I know variations on this thread have been beat to death with a stick but what I am looking for is not a chainring x cog recommendation.
    I have been riding single speed for 5 years now and just now started to think about putting a cog on the fixed side of my cog.
    What is a good all around street commuting gear inch or gear ratio if you prefer?

Some requirement for my gearing:
    I commute about 18 miles from downtown LA to UCLA, then back, so the gearing must be comfortable for long distances.
    The gearing needs to keep me fast enough to blend in with traffic, although most of the time I am zooming in between lanes of traffic.
    The gearing should not spin out too easily.

Gears I have tried:
    I used to live in SF/Berkeley and have been riding 48x20 or 63.1 gear inches. Was great for hills but in LA I spin-out often and exert lots of effort spinning and catching my breath. But was great for long distances.
    I recently borrowed a friends 16t cog. 48x16 or 78.8 gear inches feels nice and fast. Haven't met a hill I couldn't conquer in the two days I have ridden this set up. Doesn't spin out. But hard to backpedal in order to slow down and isn't that the whole point of riding fixed over single speed (maybe I need weeks of riding to build up those muscles).

Big difference to go from 63.1 to 78.8. So where in the middle will I be able to backpedal to slow down, keep a fast pace without spinning out, and not get tired or muscle spasms/cramps over 20 miles.
    try out 48x17 thats what I used to run its great for pretty much everything, I run 52x17 now :p
    • CommentAuthorMKE_BIKE

yea i did 48x17 for a while and loved it
    • CommentAuthorcyciumx

I always suggest 50x14 :D
    • CommentAuthorSkidMark
    • CommentTimeMay 15th 2010

No higher than 72 gear inches.
    • CommentAuthorwes m.