velospace is about bikes and the people who ride them marketplace photos random forums

Looking at getting a new lock. Any suggestions. Thanks
    I've been using a Kryptonite Fahgettaboudit mini u-lock for a few years now. I remember reading an article on Salon.com Slate about breaking modern locks, and that it was the best lock they could find. I don't know if that is true, but no one has messed with it or my bikes since I've had it.

[edit] I think there have been some other lock discussions on here in the past, you would do well to use the forum search.

Also, here's the article: http://www.slate.com/id/2140083
    How big do you want the lock?
    if you want small you can get a On Guard or a Kryptonite Mini U-lock
    or bigger U-locks you can get the Kryptonite NYC Chain that is pretty much unbreakable

https://www.kryptonitelock.com/products/ProductDetail.aspx?cid=1001&scid=1000&pid=1100

https://www.kryptonitelock.com/products/ProductDetail.aspx?cid=1001&scid=1002&pid=1169

I use the Kryptonite Mini U-lock and it works great
    Previous lock threads:
    http://velospace.org/forums/discussion/24/1/what-do-you-lock-your-bike-with/
    http://velospace.org/forums/discussion/325/kryptonite-mini-u-vs-onguard-bulldog-mini-u/

I also see that they've stopped using the NYC Fugg brand. Probably a good idea. Wait, no they haven't. Shut up.

I should also mention that I live in Eugene, OR, which, despite being a city of 160,000, is routinely one of the top cities for bike theft in the nation.
    I love my OnGuard Bulldog Mini. Some scoff at it but it gets decent reviews and I don't exactly live in a high-crime area. Coupled with a cable looped through both wheels, it does the job (and is most likely overkill for where I live).
    • CommentAuthorMancha150
    • CommentTimeFeb 9th 2010

I was actually going to suggest...