velospace is about bikes and the people who ride them marketplace photos random forums

Currently, I am attending the California Maritime Academy where I am studying to be a merchant seaman. As part of my training and to earn professional sea time, I must sail on my school's training ship for sixty days this summer. I plan on bringing my bike so that I can do some riding in foreign ports.

During that time, we will be stopping at various places in Asia including:

Guam
    Saipan
    Busan, Korea
    Kobe, Japan

I was wondering if anyone had any experience cycling in these various places, and would be willing to share there experience or any other valuable information pertaining to cycling in these ports. Thanks in advance!
    • CommentAuthorgreg
    • CommentTimeJan 29th 2010

Take photos, let us know how it goes, and get me some beef!
    I'm vegan :)
    • CommentAuthorgreg

When in Kobe
    • CommentAuthorbionnaki

go hang out with tomity
    • CommentAuthorthe rabbi
    • CommentTimeJan 30th 2010

i lived in kobe for 3 months. i rode bmx the whole time.
    • CommentAuthorRuffinit
    • CommentTimeJan 31st 2010

Yeah, 20 years Navy myself.